Karnataka Announces Cancellation of SSLC and PUC Supplementary Exams, Introduces Triennial Examination System

Karnataka Initiates Major Educational Reform by Abolishing SSLC and PUC Supplementary Examinations

Karnataka's Educational Reform
Karnataka’s Educational Reform

In a move aimed at reducing examination-related stress, the Karnataka government has decided to do away with the SSLC (Secondary School Leaving Certificate) and PUC (Pre-University Course) supplementary examinations, effective from the upcoming academic year 2023–2024. Under the new examination schedule, students will now participate in three annual examinations.

Previously, students had the opportunity to take supplementary exams if they did not pass the primary examination. However, the revised system will allow students to retain their highest scores obtained from each of the three assessments. This change is expected to provide students with increased opportunities for academic achievement.

The Karnataka School Examination and Assessment Board (KSEAB) will oversee the administration of these three annual exams. The board will establish uniform standards for the new system, ensuring that all examinations maintain consistent content and difficulty levels.

Moreover, students will now have the option to select the subject in which they achieved the highest grade across the three attempts, granting them greater control over their academic performance.

In an additional development, students enrolling in their next course after the first month will be required to complete a bridge course. These transition programs will be offered by Pre-University Colleges (PUCs) or degree-granting institutions, aiming to ease students’ transition into higher education.

This move to eliminate the SSLC and PUC Supplementary Examinations represents a significant educational reform in Karnataka, with the potential to alleviate examination-related anxiety and enhance students’ prospects for success.

While the specifics of the new exam schedule are still being finalized, the government has announced that these changes will be phased in, commencing with the 2023–2024 academic year. Further details will be made available in due course.