President Set to Recognize 75 Outstanding Educators with National Teachers’ Award 2023 on September 5th

In the quest to acknowledge pioneering approaches to education, influential research endeavors, active community involvement, and the inventiveness of educational initiatives, the nomination process underwent a digital transformation, harnessing the power of Jan Bhagidari (public participation) to foster increased engagement.

"President Murmu presents National Teachers' Award."
“President Murmu presents National Teachers’ Award.”

New Delhi, September 5, 2023 – President Droupadi Murmu is set to confer the prestigious National Teachers’ Award upon 75 deserving recipients in an upcoming ceremony in New Delhi. The highly anticipated event will unfold at Vigyan Bhawan on September 5, 2023, as per an official announcement from the Union Ministry of Education.

Marking the annual celebration of National Teachers’ Day in India, observed every September 5 in honor of former President Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan’s birthday, the National Teachers’ Award aims to pay homage to the exceptional contributions of educators nationwide. It seeks to applaud educators who have not only elevated the standard of education but also made a positive impact on the lives of their students through unwavering dedication.

Each honoree will be presented with a certificate of merit, a cash prize of Rs. 50,000, and a silver medal, recognizing their outstanding contributions to the field of education. Additionally, the awardees will have the opportunity to engage in an interactive session with the Prime Minister, as stated in the official release.

In a noteworthy expansion this year, the National Teachers’ Award will also encompass teachers from the Department of Higher Education and the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship. This broader inclusion underscores the commitment to acknowledging the exceptional contributions made by educators across various educational sectors. In 2023, 50 School Teachers, 13 Teachers from Higher Education, and 12 Teachers from the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship will be recipients of these esteemed awards.

Furthermore, in a bid to recognize innovative pedagogical approaches, impactful research, community involvement, and the originality of educational initiatives, the nomination process was carried out online, with a strong emphasis on Jan Bhagidari (public participation) to boost overall engagement. The Union Education Minister has appointed three distinct Independent National juries, comprised of eminent individuals, to rigorously select the most deserving teachers for this prestigious accolade, according to the official statement.

Leave a Comment